Secure Key Management in Financial Services – Ergonomics White Paper

Nov 07, 2022

We constantly strive to protect our values and possessions against theft, misusage and espionage. Cryptographic technologies play an essential role in protecting us against evil adversaries by establishing secure communication between trusted parties. This is especially prevalent in payment card business, e-commerce and financial industries. As technology (both friendly end evil) are constantly evolving, you not only need regular updates to the newest technologies, but often additionally a boost in knowledge and understanding.

Many people might have heard of acronyms such as HTTPS, SSL/TLS or RSA, as they are used in modern web applications. The requirements of the financial industry as well as the techniques to fulfil these requirements are related and often similar to the technologies. However, for a stringent implementation of security, a more complete view of security requirements and cryptographic tools needs to be considered.

The White Paper “Secure Key Management in Financial Services” covers the current standards and methodologies in the field of key management of electronic payment transactions. We explain the terms Key Distribution, TR-34, TR-31, ANSI-X9.24, Key Receiving Device and Key Distributing Host in the context of financial transactions.

Download the White Paper.

Sicheres Schlüsselmanagement bei Finanztransaktionen – Ergonomics White Paper

07. Juli 2021

Unsere Daten und Werte sollen vor Diebstahl, Missbrauch und Spionage geschützt sein. Kryptografische Technologien spielen eine wesentliche Rolle, um uns vor Angreifern zu schützen, indem sie eine sichere Kommunikation zwischen vertrauenswürdigen Parteien herstellen. Dies ist vor allem im Zahlkartengeschäft, im E-Commerce und in der Finanzbranche von Bedeutung. Da sich die Technologien (sowohl im positiven als auch im negtiven) ständig weiterentwickeln, benötigen Sie nicht nur regelmässige Updates zu den neuesten Technologien, sondern oft auch ein besseres Verständnis der Aufgabenstellung.

Viele haben vielleicht schon von Abkürzungen wie HTTPS, SSL/TLS oder RSA gehört, da diese in modernen Webanwendungen verwendet werden. Die Anforderungen der Finanzindustrie sowie die Techniken zur Erfüllung dieser Anforderungen sind mit den Technologien verwandt und oft ähnlich. Für eine stringente Umsetzung der Sicherheit ist jedoch eine umfassendere Betrachtung der Sicherheitsanforderungen und der kryptografischen Werkzeuge erforderlich.

Das White Paper „Secure Key Management in Financial Services“ behandelt die aktuellen Standards und Methoden im Bereich des elektronischen Zahlungsverkehrs. Hier erklären wir u.a., was hinter den Begriffen Key Distribution, TR-34, TR-31, ANSI-X9.24, Key Receiving Device und Key Distributing Host versteckt.

Das White Paper können Sie hier herunterladen (Englisch).